A Beautiful Conclusion to the Fable Duology! Book Review: Namesake (Fable #2) by Adrienne Young #YoungAdult #BookReview #Namesake

Namesake by Adrienne Young

Blurb:

Welcome to a world made dangerous by the sea and by those who wish to profit from it. Where a young girl must find her place and her family while trying to survive in a world built for men.

With the Marigold ship free of her father, Fable and the rest of the crew were set to start over. That freedom is short-lived when Fable becomes a pawn in a notorious thug’s scheme. In order to get to her intended destination, she must help him to secure a partnership with Holland, a powerful gem trader who is more than she seems.

Continue reading “A Beautiful Conclusion to the Fable Duology! Book Review: Namesake (Fable #2) by Adrienne Young #YoungAdult #BookReview #Namesake”

ARC Book Review: Red Wolf by Rachel Vincent #BookReview #YA #RedWolf #Retelling #RetellingsReadingChallenge

Red Wolf by Rachel Vincent

Publication date: July 20th 2021

Blurb:

This high stakes, pacey reimagining of Little Red Riding Hood is perfect for fans of Stephanie Garber and Megan Spooner.

For as long as sixteen-year-old Adele can remember the village of Oakvale has been surrounding by the dark woods—a forest filled with terrible monsters that light cannot penetrate. Like every person who grows up in Oakvale she has been told to steer clear of the woods unless absolutely necessary.

But unlike her neighbors in Oakvale, Adele has a very good reason for going into the woods. Adele is one of a long line of guardians, women who are able to change into wolves and who are tasked with the job of protecting their village while never letting any of the villagers know of their existence.

Continue reading “ARC Book Review: Red Wolf by Rachel Vincent #BookReview #YA #RedWolf #Retelling #RetellingsReadingChallenge”

This Week’s Books… Namesake by Adrienne Young – When the Stars Go Dark by Paula McLain – A History of Wild Places by Shea Ernshaw #Reading #Books #AmReading

Over the weekend I finished Fable by Adrienne Young. The book was amazing. You can see my review by clicking here. This week I have three books lined up including:

Namesake by Adrienne Young

After finishing Fable, which ended on a huge cliffhanger, I had to move right on to Namesake. I’m about a third of the way in, and it’s good so far but has a different feel. I’m not as enthralled as I was with Fable. I’m still confident it’s going to turn out well because there are some interesting twists about her mother coming to light now.

Blurb:

Welcome to a world made dangerous by the sea and by those who wish to profit from it. Where a young girl must find her place and her family while trying to survive in a world built for men.

With the Marigold ship free of her father, Fable and the rest of the crew were set to start over. That freedom is short-lived when Fable becomes a pawn in a notorious thug’s scheme. In order to get to her intended destination, she must help him to secure a partnership with Holland, a powerful gem trader who is more than she seems.

Continue reading “This Week’s Books… Namesake by Adrienne Young – When the Stars Go Dark by Paula McLain – A History of Wild Places by Shea Ernshaw #Reading #Books #AmReading”

Writing reviews: I’m changing my review…again! #BookReviews #Memoirs

On Saturday morning I was enjoying some time on YouTube and came across a video of an author speaking about his recent memoir. One of the topics that came up was how much of his own writing actually went into the memoir. He proceeded to talk about what a struggle this memoir was to write because he’s never been a writer and didn’t have any interest in being one. He’d basically forced himself to write and didn’t feel very good about it. The whole deal made him feel overwhelmed, and what was promised didn’t really come through for him. It turned out to be a negative experience overall.

Continue reading “Writing reviews: I’m changing my review…again! #BookReviews #Memoirs”