Wednesday’s Breakfast and a Book

This morning’s breakfast is a simple smoothie called “The Green Monster.” This is similar to the Vita-mix version taste wise and you’ve probably sampled if you visit Costco during the demonstrations for Vita-mix blenders. It’s a very easy way to get your greens because spinach has such a mild flavor and paired with the oranges-you can’t even taste it.

One of my first jobs as a teen was working at an Orange Julius restaurant. I loved working there and enjoyed most of the smoothies on the menu. The standard Orange Julius was one of my favorites. This smoothie is similar depending on how much sweetness you add to it. Orange Julius uses processed sugar and powder compounds in their smoothies. This is a much healthier option using all fresh ingredients!

This Green Monster has a ton of orange flavor and makes about 4 servings. When replacing a meal, I usually drink close to 32 ounces.

Here’s the recipe:

1/2 cup almond milk

3 oranges peeled – Use only 2 oranges if you want it thicker

2 handfuls of spinach ( If you want to use kale, that’s fine too, but much stronger flavor)

Stevia to taste

1/2 tsp. vanilla extract

At least 1 cup of ice

(an option is also to add in a frozen banana.)

Tips:

20170517_072626.jpg

The easiest way to prepare the oranges for the blender is to cut off both ends and use a sharp knife to cut along the outside of the orange leaving as much pith (white) as you can. You’ll lose the top pith, but there’s plenty on the sides.

20170517_072652.jpg

Why?

  • When you remove pith, you’re taking away 30% of the fiber.
  • It’s loaded with antioxidants (amazing cancer fighters.)
  • Vitamin C- by including the pith, you’ll double the vitamin C in the smoothie.

 

20170517_073219.jpg

 

Add all ingredients to the blender in the order listed and blend until smooth.

Pour and serve. It’s better to drink it as soon as you make it!

20170517_073743.jpg

If you want to add supplements, just throw them in before you start the blender. This time I added Moringa and Hydrolyzed Collagen.

20170517_073400.jpg

Benefits of moringa:

This is from Dr. Axe’s Website. 

Moringa is an excellent source of protein, vitamin A, potassium, calcium and vitamin C. Just how strong is moringa? According to Kuli Kuli, an organization that harvests moringa plants in Africa and makes them accessible to customers in the the U.S. and other western nations, gram for gram, moringa contains:

  • two times the amount of protein of yogurt
  • four times the amount of vitamin A as carrots
  • three times the amount of potassium as bananas
  • four times the amount of calcium as cows’ milk
  • seven times the amount of vitamin C as oranges

You can read more about moringa from Dr. Axe by clicking here:

Here’s a short documentary on moringa:

Moringa does change the flavor of the smoothie if you add too much. Start with a half tsp. and work your way up from there…


Benefits of collagen powder:

I don’t buy Dr. Axe’s powders because they’re fairly expensive.

The one I buy is here

This bag lasts me a long time. I usually use this in my smoothies every other day. I do use bone broth as well, but will have to do a different post on that later. It’s super easy to make at home. Great for the body!


Here’s what I’m reading today! If you want to add them to Goodreads, just click on the covers.

The Stars are Fire

32337119.jpg

Blurb:

INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BEST SELLER
From the New York Times best-selling author of The Weight of Water and The Pilot’s Wife (an Oprah’s Book Club selection): an exquisitely suspenseful new novel about an extraordinary young woman tested by a catastrophic event and its devastating aftermath–based on the true story of the largest fire in Maine’s history
In October 1947, after a summer long drought, fires break out all along the Maine coast from Bar Harbor to Kittery and are soon racing out of control from town to village. Five months pregnant, Grace Holland is left alone to protect her two toddlers when her husband, Gene, joins the volunteer firefighters. Along with her best friend, Rosie, and Rosie’s two young children, Grace watches helplessly as their houses burn to the ground, the flames finally forcing them all into the ocean as a last resort. The women spend the night frantically protecting their children, and in the morning find their lives forever changed: homeless, penniless, awaiting news of their husbands’ fate, and left to face an uncertain future in a town that no longer exists. In the midst of this devastating loss, Grace discovers glorious new freedoms–joys and triumphs she could never have expected her narrow life with Gene could contain–and her spirit soars. And then the unthinkable happens–and Grace’s bravery is tested as never before.

I’m listening to this on audible. I love listening to audio books because I can still get things done around my home while reading at the same time. So far, this is just OK for me. It’s starting to pick up and I plan to have it done by Friday.


The Dead Inside

33407778.jpg

Blurb:

For readers of Girl Interrupted and Tweak, Cyndy Etler’s gripping memoir gives readers a glimpse into the harrowing reality of her sixteen months in the notorious “tough love” program the ACLU called “a concentration camp for throwaway kids.”

I never was a badass. Or a slut, a junkie, a stoner, like they told me I was. I was just a kid looking for something good, something that felt like love. I was a wannabe in a Levi’s jean jacket. Anybody could see that. Except my mother. And the professionals at Straight.

From the outside, Straight Inc. was a drug rehab. But on the inside it was…well, it was something else.

All Cyndy wanted was to be loved and accepted. By age fourteen, she had escaped from her violent home, only to be reported as a runaway and sent to a “drug rehabilitation” facility that changed her world.

To the public, Straight Inc. was a place of recovery. But behind closed doors, the program used bizarre and intimidating methods to “treat” its patients. In her raw and fearless memoir, Cyndy Etler recounts her sixteen months in the living nightmare that Straight Inc. considered “healing.”

So far, I’m enjoying it. It’s a quite unbelievable story and I’m truly amazed that this actually happened. I’ll be done this weekend so please check back for my review! 


Thanks for visiting today’s post. I hope you have enjoyed it. Please feel free to comment or leave suggestions below!

KiAfk3z.gif

2 thoughts on “Wednesday’s Breakfast and a Book

  1. Jennifer C

    I can’t believe it’s Wednesday again, already! I enjoyed this post once again! I’ve been meaning to try Moringa and this gave me just the reminder I needed to buy some! One of my favorite smoothies is orange/blueberry/spinach, but I’m going to try this simpler version of just the orange with the spinach and the other things you added to make it more like an Orange Julius- yum! Also loved reading your books. I am really looking forward to your thoughts on the new Anita Shreve especially. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Jennifer! Let me know how you like the smoothie. I hope you enjoy it. The moringa can be quite strong, so I normally don’t go over a tsp. at a time.

      I’m hoping to have both of these books done by the weekend. I’m enjoying audio-books so much here lately. 🙂 Thanks for checking out the post and commenting. Talk soon! 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s