The Wife Between Us by Greer Hendricks and Sarah Pekkanen – Book Review

The Wife Between Us

by Greer Hendricks, and Sarah Pekkanen



A novel of suspense that explores the complexities of marriage and the dangerous truths we ignore in the name of love. 

When you read this book, you will make many assumptions.
You will assume you are reading about a jealous wife and her obsession with her replacement.
You will assume you are reading about a woman about to enter a new marriage with the man she loves.
You will assume the first wife was a disaster and that the husband was well rid of her.
You will assume you know the motives, the history, the anatomy of the relationships.
Assume nothing.

Discover the next blockbuster novel of suspense, and get ready for the read of your life.

My Thoughts:

Vanessa has problems. Now that she’s divorced from Richard, she can’t stand the fact that Richard has moved on. Not only is he his usual thriving self, but now he’s getting married to someone new–someone young and beautiful. It just so happens that this new woman reminds Vanessa of someone she used to be.

What is it about Richard? Was he a perfect husband? Is he truly a knight in shining armor? Was Vanessa a psycho and mentally unstable wife? Who’s to blame for the marriage ending and what role do the others have in this story?

I went in to this book super excited after reading multiple rave reviews about it from friends on Goodreads. It seemed like everyone was loving it, so I went straight to NetGalley and put in my request. After I started reading it, I didn’t want to put it down. I thought for sure I knew where the story was going. It felt slow to me, but I hung on until nearly halfway through when the first major twist was introduced. I was shocked! I was so very surprised and befuddled thinking that I’d skipped something or that I was lost. It seemed unique and interesting, but as time went on, I became disentranced and my mind began to wonder away from the story. The characters became confusing to me and the plot felt all over the place. It was like I wanted to get to the ending to see how things would unfold, but there simply wasn’t anything going on to captivate me. At times, I felt like there was too much information and in other places, simply not enough. I didn’t feel like it was horribly predictable as there were plenty of twists and a strange reveal at the end, but even with all the crazy twists, this just ended up being an okay read for me and it just didn’t feel like a thriller.

I did still enjoy it and feel like this is going to be a favorite for many people! I will still recommend this because I know many will love it. The title, cover, and blurb fit the story perfectly!

Thanks to Netgalley for this ARC of The Wife Between Us.

3 stars



Find this book on Amazon and Goodreads

  • 352 pages
  • Publisher: St. Martin’s Press (January 9, 2018)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1250130921
  • ISBN-13: 978-1250130921

About the Authors:

Greer Hendricks


Greer Hendricks spent over two decades as an editor. Her writing has been published in The New York Times and Publishers Weekly. The Wife Between Us is her first novel. –Goodreads

Follow on Goodreads

Sarah Pekkanen


“Fans of Jennifer Weiner and Emily Giffin will strongly appreciate this rising star in women’s fiction.” – Library Journal.
Internationally bestselling author Sarah Pekkanen’s newest book is THE PERFECT NEIGHBORS. She is also the co-author of the upcoming THE WIFE BETWEEN US (out in January 2018).


Sarah’s linked free short estories, published by Simon&Schuster exclusively for ereaders, are titled “All is Bright,” and “Love, Accidentally.”

Sarah is the mother of three young boys, which explains why she writes part of her novels at Chuck E. Cheese. Sarah penned her first book, Miscellaneous Tales and Poems, at the age of 10. When publishers failed to jump upon this literary masterpiece (hey, all the poems rhymed!) Sarah followed up by sending them a sternly-worded letter on Raggedy Ann stationery. Sarah still has that letter, and carries it to New York every time she has meetings with her publisher, as a reminder that dreams do come true. –Goodreads

Her website is and please find her on Facebook Instagram and Twitter @sarahpekkanen!

Follow on Goodreads


 Thanks for checking out my review of The Wife Between Us. Have you read this book? What are your thoughts on it? Feel free to share below.

36 thoughts on “The Wife Between Us by Greer Hendricks and Sarah Pekkanen – Book Review

  1. It’s annoying when reading and the mind gets distracted! That’s happening to me at the moment, I’m currently reading The Nest by Cynthia D’Aprix Sweeney and during the last chapter I realised in the midst of it I’d planned my dinner and had no idea what I’d just read! Dinner was sorted though! 😳😂

    Liked by 3 people

  2. Sorry you didn’t enjoy it as much as you thought you would. Don’t you hate that, having such high expectations of a book and then having it let you down? Nothing more disappointing than that, except maybe anticipation of a long, hot bath and having the water not be hot enough. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah, it’s no fun for sure. I had to finish it though and I’m still glad I read it.

      I totally want to go take a hot bath now. It’s freezing here! 😁🤣❤

      Thanks, Vanessa. Hope you have a wonderful day.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. O M Goodness Mischenko, I feel EXACTLY the same way about this book!! I’m trying to finish it, but left off of it to read something else for now. Since I’m nearly done I’ll go back and read to the end, but I just couldn’t stay invested in it. I kept getting distracted and feeling like I just wanted it to end so I could find out what happened already. Sheesh. I can’t believe how accurately you portrayed my thoughts on it. Thx so much for your review.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Wow, that actually makes me feel better! I felt distracted as well, but mainly it was just an ‘okay’ read. I was still able to follow along, but wow. It just wasn’t what I expected after reading so many rave reviews. Sorry it wasn’t a winner for you either. Happy reading and enjoy your next! 🙂 ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Great review! I’m sure setting up big twists is hard, especially in a book like this that seems (I would guess) to follow a shorter list of characters. Obviously the characters need to do some surprising things, but their actions need to remain semi-consistent with who the characters are, or else it runs the risk of becoming disingenuous and throwing the whole story.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Chauncey! True, there weren’t many characters, but there were some unique twists. Unfortunately, it just wasn’t enough to keep me interested. Many others loved it and I’m sure it’s going to be a popular book in 2018! ❤

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s