This Week’s Reads: That Weekend by Kara Thomas – Lost in the Never Woods by Aiden Thomas – Sing a Song of Seasons by Fiona Waters #Reading #Books #AmReading #Reads

Hi all! Hope everyone’s enjoying their week so far. Here’s what I’m reading this week and also what I just finished. My reading has slowed, and I won’t be posting as much over the next few weeks. Part of the reason for that is because I’ve been reading NetGalley books which don’t publish until later on. The other reason is that it’s time for planting. With frosts almost every night, it’s finally warming up this weekend, and it’s time to get those plants in the ground!

So, I just finished up Live Your Life: My Story of Loving and Losing Nick Cordero by Amanda and Ana Kloots. I’ll post that review soon. It was a five-star read for me.

I also finished up The Suicide House by Charlie Donlea, which turned out to be okay. I was reading this book in the background of everything else, and it became quite a chore. It wasn’t a favorite but still enjoyable. Some readers recommend to read the first book before this one, but The Suicide House is a standalone. This was a giveaway, and I’ll post the review soon.

Blurb:


From #1 International Bestseller Charlie Donlea—A chilling murder in a prestigious prep school is at the heart of this riveting new suspense novel that’s perfect for fans of Lucy Foley and Ruth Ware. Forensic reconstructionist Rory Moore and her psychologist partner, Lane Phillips,must chase down the truth behind the ghastly killings featured on the hit true crime podcast sweeping the nation. Can they uncover the hidden secrets of the school and the psychology of a killer before the next episode airs?

Inside the walls of Indiana’s elite Westmont Preparatory High School, expectations run high and rules are strictly enforced. But in the woods beyond the manicured campus and playing fields sits an abandoned boarding house that is infamous among Westmont’s students as a late-night hangout. Here, only one rule applies: don’t let your candle go out—unless you want the Man in the Mirror to find you. . . .

One year ago, two students were killed there in a grisly slaughter. The case has since become the focus of a hit podcast, The Suicide House. Though a teacher was convicted of the murders, mysteries and questions remain. The most urgent among them is why so many students who survived that horrific night have returned to the boarding house—to kill themselves.

Rory, an expert in reconstructing cold cases, is working on The Suicide House podcast with Lane, recreating the night of the killings in order to find answers that have eluded the school, the town, and the police. But the more they learn about the troubled students, the chillingly stoic culprit, and a dangerous game gone tragically wrong, the more convinced they become that something sinister is still happening. Inside Westmont Prep, the game hasn’t ended. It thrives on secrecy and silence. And for its players, there may be no way to win—or to survive. . . .


Finally, I finished up Biggie with my daughter. Did we ever love that story! The family runs a rescue and finds a yorkie who needs a home. In the process, a person in the community loses a dog, and they all get together to find him. It’s such a heartwarming story with good messages for kids. We’re going to check out as many of the books in the Puppy Place series that we can.


Reading Now:

I’m reading two books for myself and a slew of others with my children…

That Weekend by Kara Thomas

This is from NetGalley and publishes next month…

Blurb:

Three best friends, a lake house, a secret trip – what could go wrong?

It was supposed to be the perfect prom weekend getaway. But it’s clear something terrible happened when Claire wakes up alone and bloodied on a hiking trail with no memory of the past forty-eight hours.

Three went up the mountain, but only one came back.

Now everyone wants answers – most of all, Claire. She remembers Friday night, but after that… nothing. And now Kat and Jesse – her best friends – are missing.

That weekend changes everything.

What happened on the mountain? And where are Kat and Jesse? Claire knows the answers are buried somewhere in her memory, but as she’s learning, everyone has secrets – even her best friends. And she’s pretty sure she’s not going to like what she remembers.


Lost in the Never Woods by Aiden Thomas

This was originally a NetGalley read, but they never responded to my request, so I went out and purchased a copy. After purchasing the book they ended up approving me. 😆 It’s a Peter Pan retelling, which will count for the retelling challenge.

Blurb:

When children go missing in the small coastal town of Astoria, people look to Wendy for answers.

It’s been five years since Wendy and her two brothers went missing in the woods, but when the town’s children start to disappear, the questions surrounding her brothers’ mysterious circumstances are brought back into light. Attempting to flee her past, Wendy almost runs over an unconscious boy lying in the middle of the road, and gets pulled into the mystery haunting the town.

Peter, a boy she thought lived only in her stories, claims that if they don’t do something, the missing children will meet the same fate as her brothers. In order to find them and rescue the missing kids, Wendy must confront what’s waiting for her in the woods.


Sing a Song of Seasons: A Nature Poem for Each Day of the Year by Fiona Waters and Frann Preston-Gannon

We started reading this after picking up a copy from our library, but then I realized we needed a copy of our own. This is a big book with a nature poem to read for every day of the year. Some of the poems are super short, and it’s hard to stop reading at just one. It’s beautifully illustrated too.

Blurb:

Sing a Song of Seasons is a lavishly illustrated collection of 366 nature poems — one for every day of the year. Filled with familiar favorites and new discoveries written by a wide variety of poets, including William Shakespeare, Emily Dickinson, John Updike, Langston Hughes, N. M. Bodecker, Okamoto Kanoko, and many more, this is the perfect book for children (and grown-ups!) to share at the beginning or the end of the day.


I won’t write too much on all the books that I’m reading with the kids because there’s always a working stack, but Red Rover, which I mentioned last week is one of them. This book has just the perfect amount of horror for kids.

I’m also reading Pilgrim Stories with them because they’re studying that period in history right now. These stories are pretty basic, but I love how easy they are to read. They’re pretty short, and it’s a perfect collection for reading out loud to younger readers.


That’s it for this week. What are you reading? Let’s chat in the comment section. Enjoy the rest of your week, and happy reading!

❤️ Mischenko

24 thoughts on “This Week’s Reads: That Weekend by Kara Thomas – Lost in the Never Woods by Aiden Thomas – Sing a Song of Seasons by Fiona Waters #Reading #Books #AmReading #Reads

    1. There are some thrills and chills, David. My issue was way too much going on. When I feel like I need to take notes, it’s hard for me to get into a story. Could’ve been my mind at the time too. 😉 Thank you!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. David R. Dowdy

        Interesting comment as I also find taking notes ruins the story. It’s an easy trap to find yourself in especially when you’re looking forward to writing a review.

        Liked by 1 person

        1. That’s a good discussion topic! I was just thinking the other day that if I didn’t write reviews, perhaps I could relax a little more and just read. It’s still tiresome for me when there are too many POV’s regardless.

          Like

    1. Biggie was really cute. We loved him. It was a pleasant surprise that he wasn’t the only focus of the book.

      I don’t mind buying books, and I think the kids will be able to read Lost in the Never Woods too, but many friends have rated this one low. Guess well see. Thanks, Tessa. 😁

      Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m glad you’re going to read it too, Jen. I was amazed by her strength and positivity and her unwavering faith. She had so many neat experiences that she recognized as signs and connections and it’s just beautiful. I’m a firm believer. ❤️

      Liked by 1 person

  1. I’ve been tempted by The Suicide House but haven’t tried it. I’ll be curious to see what you think when you review it. And I love the sound of That Weekend. I’m going to have to look that one up.

    I love that you read books with your children. My parents are the ones who instilled my love for reading in me 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Mae, that’s so wonderful about your parents! I hope my kids will say the same when they’re grown.

      The Suicide House was just okay for me. There’s maybe too much going on in the story for me. Hoping to start That Weekend this weekend. 😉 Happy Reading!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m really looking forward to your review of Live Your Life. I followed Amanda’s updates last year and was familiar with Nick’s television work so I felt like I knew him. Broke my heart when he lost his battle.

    Oh, oh. The Suicide House is the second book in a series and that first book has quite the backstory for Rory. It was a really good story and may fill in some of those holes you felt in Suicide. Sorry it wasn’t a better reading experience.

    Enjoy your upcoming books, Mischenko💜

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Me too, Jonetta. They had such a huge following. There’s so much more information in this book, so you may want to read it. I liked getting to know more about them and their families, but I just hate everything they had to go through. To think this is just one person’s story too…it’s heartbreaking what people have had to go through during this pandemic.

      My biggest issue with The Suicide House was just way too much going on. I figured some of the references and characters may have been from the first book. I may go back and check it out now.

      Thank you. ❤️

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: May Wrap-up 2021 #Books #BookReviews #MayWrapUp #Music – ReadRantRock&Roll

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s