This Week’s Reads: For the Wolf by Hannah Whitten and Crying in H Mart by Michelle Zauner #AmReading #Books #Reads

Things have been very busy with planting and outdoor work, which has slowed my reading colossally. We ended up deciding on a whim to fix one particular landscaping area behind my house, and it turned into a huge project but a fun and rewarding one. It’ll be nice to have some new, different plants to share for Flower Friday too.

I just finished up That Weekend, which turned out to be pretty good. I’ll post my review within a week as this releases in June.

I’m reading with the kids The Dark Lord Clementine and Echo Mountain. The first one is taking some time to get into.

The kids are close to a DNF with this one, but we’re only on chapter 4, so I’ll push them a little more before we decide to do that. It just isn’t holding their interest. Personally, I like it so far, but it’s a little slow.

On the other hand, Echo Mountain is one they thoroughly love; they look forward to cracking it open every day.

I’m reading two books: For the Wolf by Hannah Whitten, and Crying in H Mart by Michelle Zauner.

For the Wolf is a NetGalley Read I couldn’t wait to request. I took this for a “Little Red Riding Hood” retelling, but it has some “Beauty and the Beast” elements too. It’s super descriptive and slow, so it’s going to take me some time to finish it. I’m finding that distracting, but I’m loving the writing. Certain aspects of this actually reminds me of Red Wolf, but it’s definitely different. Something interesting is that the author actually posted content warnings on her website. How awesome is that? I wish every author did that. I don’t worry too much about content warnings for myself, but I know other readers who do. It seems like such a considerate thing to do for your readers.

Blurb:

The first daughter is for the Throne.
The second daughter is for the Wolf.

For fans of Uprooted and The Bear and the Nightingale comes a dark fantasy novel about a young woman who must be sacrificed to the legendary Wolf of the Wood to save her kingdom. But not all legends are true, and the Wolf isn’t the only danger lurking in the Wilderwood.

As the only Second Daughter born in centuries, Red has one purpose-to be sacrificed to the Wolf in the Wood in the hope he’ll return the world’s captured gods.

Red is almost relieved to go. Plagued by a dangerous power she can’t control, at least she knows that in the Wilderwood, she can’t hurt those she loves. Again.

But the legends lie. The Wolf is a man, not a monster. Her magic is a calling, not a curse. And if she doesn’t learn how to use it, the monsters the gods have become will swallow the Wilderwood-and her world-whole.


The other book I’m starting is Crying in H Mart. This is a memoir I couldn’t pass up. Originally I heard about it on NPR, and then a few reviews from trusted friends came through. This will likely be my weekend read.

Blurb:

From the indie rockstar of Japanese Breakfast fame, and author of the viral 2018 New Yorker essay that shares the title of this book, an unflinching, powerful memoir about growing up Korean American, losing her mother, and forging her own identity.

In this exquisite story of family, food, grief, and endurance, Michelle Zauner proves herself far more than a dazzling singer, songwriter, and guitarist. With humor and heart, she tells of growing up the only Asian American kid at her school in Eugene, Oregon; of struggling with her mother’s particular, high expectations of her; of a painful adolescence; of treasured months spent in her grandmother’s tiny apartment in Seoul, where she and her mother would bond, late at night, over heaping plates of food.

As she grew up, moving to the East Coast for college, finding work in the restaurant industry, and performing gigs with her fledgling band–and meeting the man who would become her husband–her Koreanness began to feel ever more distant, even as she found the life she wanted to live. It was her mother’s diagnosis of terminal pancreatic cancer, when Michelle was twenty-five, that forced a reckoning with her identity and brought her to reclaim the gifts of taste, language, and history her mother had given her.

Vivacious and plainspoken, lyrical and honest, Zauner’s voice is as radiantly alive on the page as it is onstage. Rich with intimate anecdotes that will resonate widely, and complete with family photos, Crying in H Mart is a book to cherish, share, and reread.


I’m reading Unicorn Academy Nature Magic #1: Lily and Feather with my youngest daughter. We’re loving this story so far. This is perfect for her because it has some simple illustrations to break up the text. We purchased the second book as well. I’ve seen at least twelve books in the series so far.

I’m also still reading Lost in the Never Woods from last week, so I won’t be starting any new reads until I get caught up.


That’s it for me! What are you guys reading this week? Let’s chat.

❤️ Mischenko

24 thoughts on “This Week’s Reads: For the Wolf by Hannah Whitten and Crying in H Mart by Michelle Zauner #AmReading #Books #Reads

  1. starjustin

    Wow! As busy as everything has been seems like still a full week of reads.
    I’m enjoying listening to Echo Mountain with the kids and can’t wait to see how it turns out.
    All of your reads sound very interesting especially the memoir. I hope you enjoy! 📚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’ve probably taken on too much really. 😆 I’ve only completed one book in a week for myself. It’s okay because I just won’t move on until I’m caught up.

      Echo Mountain seems to be one of their favorites lately. We read one of her other books, Wolf Hollow, and enjoyed it. Thank you! 😃

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Aw, it was such a crazy spring, wasn’t it? We had serious late frosts too. It’s been close to 90 degrees for over a week and dry and now I see we may have a low of 40 in a few days for a low. It’s crazy!

      I hope you get some time for your plants, and that your lilies bloom beautifully! 😉

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Hi, Mischenko.👋🏽 Thanks for sharing your books with us.

    I’m currently reading a cozy mystery called Death in an Elegant City by Sara Rosett. And also A Dog of Many Names by Douglas Green, and Starting Over at Acorn Cottage by Kate Forster. Yesterday I downloaded Susan Mallery’s new book, The Stepsisters. 🙈. I didn’t start that one yet.

    I’m enjoying the others but A Dog of Many Names slowed down a bit for me. I’m going to try to get back to that one.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Wow, you’re invested in a lot of books! I like that the author of For the Wolf put content warnings on her website. There are certain things that I just can’t read in fiction and I hate being in the middle of a book and have one of them suddenly appear.

    I can’t wait to hear your thoughts on That Weekend, and Echo Mountain looks really cute.

    I just finished Chasing the Boogeyman, a Net Galley read, and have just started Hairpin Bridge, both suspense novels. Chasing the Boogeyman is one of my favorite reads of the year so far. The jury is still out on Hairpin Bridge.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Mae, I loved your review for Chasing the Boogeyman, so I added that one! Hope you love Hairpin Bridge too. Suspense and thrillers are favorites for me too.

      It seems like a lot for one week with everything we have going on, but Crying in H Mart will likely be for the weekend. I won’t be moving on to any more books until these two for myself are completed. For the Wolf actually releases in a few days.

      Thanks, Mae. Happy reading!

      Liked by 1 person

    1. It turned out to be pretty good, Tessa, but it wasn’t as thrilling as I expected it to be. It was more of a mystery/suspense, but then toward the end it picked up. Major twists though! Hope you enjoy it if you read it. 🧡

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Such joys though, Cathy! I’m sure you’re having a wonderful time with a new puppy and a new garden. I’ve always said that fall and winter are my favorite and most productive seasons for reading. Hope we can keep up a little at least. Enjoy!

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Jen! I’m really excited to share. We purchased a few that I’ve always wanted but we never had, so it’s going to be a good year. ❤️ Hope you’re doing well, friend, and I hope you have many blooms and reads to enjoy right now!

      Liked by 1 person

    1. This is my first, Diana. I’ll probably go back and read The Cheerleaders because I’ve seen a lot of people leave positive reviews for it. Thank you so much, Diana. I hope you and your family are doing well. ❤️

      Like

  4. Pingback: May Wrap-up 2021 #Books #BookReviews #MayWrapUp #Music – ReadRantRock&Roll

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s