Book Review: Lost in the Never Woods by Aiden Thomas #LostInTheNeverWoods #BookReview #Retelling #YoungAdult #RetellingReadingChallenge

Lost in the Never Woods by Aiden Thomas

Blurb:

It’s been five years since Wendy and her two brothers went missing in the woods, but when the town’s children start to disappear, the questions surrounding her brothers’ mysterious circumstances are brought back into light. Attempting to flee her past, Wendy almost runs over an unconscious boy lying in the middle of the road, and gets pulled into the mystery haunting the town.

Peter, a boy she thought lived only in her stories, claims that if they don’t do something, the missing children will meet the same fate as her brothers. In order to find them and rescue the missing kids, Wendy must confront what’s waiting for her in the woods.

My Thoughts:

Peter Pan is one of my favorite childhood stories, so picking up this retelling was a no-brainer, especially with the beautiful, captivating cover. This is my first Peter Pan retelling, and I had no idea what to expect. Without a doubt, this book was a pleasant surprise.

Continue reading “Book Review: Lost in the Never Woods by Aiden Thomas #LostInTheNeverWoods #BookReview #Retelling #YoungAdult #RetellingReadingChallenge”

Book Review: For the Wolf by Hannah F. Whitten #ForTheWolf #Retelling #BookReview

For the Wolf by Hannah Whitten

Blurb:

The first daughter is for the Throne.
The second daughter is for the Wolf.

For fans of Uprooted and The Bear and the Nightingale comes a dark fantasy novel about a young woman who must be sacrificed to the legendary Wolf of the Wood to save her kingdom. But not all legends are true, and the Wolf isn’t the only danger lurking in the Wilderwood.

As the only Second Daughter born in centuries, Red has one purpose-to be sacrificed to the Wolf in the Wood in the hope he’ll return the world’s captured gods.

Red is almost relieved to go. Plagued by a dangerous power she can’t control, at least she knows that in the Wilderwood, she can’t hurt those she loves. Again.

Continue reading “Book Review: For the Wolf by Hannah F. Whitten #ForTheWolf #Retelling #BookReview”

This Week’s Reads: For the Wolf by Hannah Whitten and Crying in H Mart by Michelle Zauner #AmReading #Books #Reads

Things have been very busy with planting and outdoor work, which has slowed my reading colossally. We ended up deciding on a whim to fix one particular landscaping area behind my house, and it turned into a huge project but a fun and rewarding one. It’ll be nice to have some new, different plants to share for Flower Friday too.

I just finished up That Weekend, which turned out to be pretty good. I’ll post my review within a week as this releases in June.

I’m reading with the kids The Dark Lord Clementine and Echo Mountain. The first one is taking some time to get into.

Continue reading “This Week’s Reads: For the Wolf by Hannah Whitten and Crying in H Mart by Michelle Zauner #AmReading #Books #Reads”

Book Review: Among the Beasts & Briars by Ashley Poston #BookReview #Fantasy #Fiction

Among the Beasts & Briars by Ashley Poston

Blurb:

Cerys is safe in the kingdom of Aloriya.

Here there are no droughts, disease, or famine, and peace is everlasting. It has been this way for hundreds of years, since the first king made a bargain with the Lady who ruled the forest that borders the kingdom. But as Aloriya prospered, the woods grew dark, cursed, and forbidden. Cerys knows this all too well: when she was young, she barely escaped as the woods killed her friends and her mother. Now Cerys carries a small bit of the curse—the magic—in her blood, a reminder of the day she lost everything. The most danger she faces now, as a gardener’s daughter, is the annoying fox who stalks the royal gardens and won’t leave her alone.

Continue reading “Book Review: Among the Beasts & Briars by Ashley Poston #BookReview #Fantasy #Fiction”