ARC Book Review: Red Wolf by Rachel Vincent #BookReview #YA #RedWolf #Retelling #RetellingsReadingChallenge

Red Wolf by Rachel Vincent

Publication date: July 20th 2021

Blurb:

This high stakes, pacey reimagining of Little Red Riding Hood is perfect for fans of Stephanie Garber and Megan Spooner.

For as long as sixteen-year-old Adele can remember the village of Oakvale has been surrounding by the dark woods—a forest filled with terrible monsters that light cannot penetrate. Like every person who grows up in Oakvale she has been told to steer clear of the woods unless absolutely necessary.

But unlike her neighbors in Oakvale, Adele has a very good reason for going into the woods. Adele is one of a long line of guardians, women who are able to change into wolves and who are tasked with the job of protecting their village while never letting any of the villagers know of their existence.

Continue reading “ARC Book Review: Red Wolf by Rachel Vincent #BookReview #YA #RedWolf #Retelling #RetellingsReadingChallenge”

Shabby Sunday: Rhyme Stew by Roald Dahl – 1989 -Book Review #VintageBooks #ShabbySunday #RoaldDahl #Books

Shabby Sunday

collage-2017-08-10-51

I have a bunch of old vintage books and seem to keep acquiring more. One of my plans when  starting this blog was to do a post every now and then sharing one of my cherished vintage books. Then I thought there might be other book bloggers out there that have some vintage books, heirlooms, or maybe some old books from childhood that they might want to share.

This meme titled ‘Shabby Sunday’ is for those who would like to participate and share some of their old vintage books. Do you have some shabby books you’d like to share? If so, please feel free to participate as anyone can join. Feel free to use my meme image if you’d like to. If you decide to do this meme, please consider linking back to me in this post so that I can see the book you’re sharing.


Last time I shared:

Humpy the Moose 

Today’s Shabby Share:

Rhyme Stew

By Roald Dahl

Blurb:
An irresistible, hilarious collection of ribald rhymes featuring characters from fairy tales, fables and nursery rhymes including ‘Dick Whittington and his Cat’, ‘The Emperor’s New Clothes’ and ‘Hansel and Gretel’. The perfect treat for Dahl fans tall and small. ‘There is no end to the Dahl invention, and this will join all the other cherished favourites. Quentin Blake is his perfect illustrator’ Books.

Continue reading “Shabby Sunday: Rhyme Stew by Roald Dahl – 1989 -Book Review #VintageBooks #ShabbySunday #RoaldDahl #Books”

Book Review: Vasilisa (Old Rus #1) by Julie Mathison #BookReview #Vasilisa #RetellingsReadingChallenge #2021ReadingChallenge

Vasilisa (Old Rus #1) by Julie Mathison

Blurb:

Three witches, two children, one ogre — and nowhere to run.

It’s 1919, but in Edenfall, Pennsylvania, the Great War is not over — not for Vasilisa, at least. Papa is presumed dead on the fields of Flanders, Mama is being courted by an absolute ogre, and now Babka, her beloved grandma, has had a bad spell. Or has she fallen under one? Only the Old Tales, the Russian fables Vasilisa was raised on, offer any comfort or counsel.

But what if they are more than child’s tales?

Continue reading “Book Review: Vasilisa (Old Rus #1) by Julie Mathison #BookReview #Vasilisa #RetellingsReadingChallenge #2021ReadingChallenge”

2021 Retellings Reading Challenge: #2021ReadingChallenge #FairyTales #RetellingsReadingChallenge #Retellings #Books

In 2019 I participated in the Retellings Reading Challenge over @cornerfolds.com. Unfortunately, Tracy isn’t hosting the retelling challenge this year, so I decided to create my own personal retelling challenge for 2021!

I love retellings, and there are so many on my shelf waiting to be read. For the original challenge, here was my list:

  • Shadowsong by S Jae-Jones
  • A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas
  • Ragnarök (Erik Storm) by Kai Mjaanes
  • Cinder by Marissa Meyer
  • The Last Unicorn by Peter S. Beagle
  • The Winter of the Witch by Katherine Arden
  • Norse Mythology by Neil Gaiman
  • Beauty by Robin McKinley
  • Geekerella by Ashley Poston
  • Finding Baba Yaga: A Short Novel in Verse by Jane Yolen
  • Heartless by Marissa Meyer
  • The Sleeper and the Spindle by Neil Gaiman
  • Tiger Lily by Jodi Lynn Anderson
  • The Wrath and the Dawn (The Wrath and the Dawn #1) by Renée Ahdieh
  • Sun and Moon, Ice and Snow by Jessica Day George
  • Daughter of the Forest (Sevenwaters #1) by Juliet Marillier
  • Mother Knows Best by Serena Valentini
  • Echo North by Joanna Ruth Meyer
  • Stepsister by Jennifer Donnelly
  • Depravity by M.J. Haag
  • Snow, Glass, Apples by Neil Gaiman

The seven that are crossed out were read for the 2019 challenge. I’m challenging myself to read these 10 titles below, on top of the other retellings I’ve already read this year, which will post next week. Not all are from my old list, and there may be more added on throughout the year.


Shadowsong by S Jae-Jones

I absolutely loved Wintersong, the first installment in this series. It reminded me so much of Labyrinth, one of my all-time favorites from childhood. When this second installment came out, I was in such a hurry to grab a copy, and here we are in 2021 still not having this one under my belt! I’m excited to see how the author continues this story.

Continue reading “2021 Retellings Reading Challenge: #2021ReadingChallenge #FairyTales #RetellingsReadingChallenge #Retellings #Books”