Shabby Sunday: The Indian in the Cupboard by Lynne Reid Banks- 1982 -Book Review #VintageBooks #ShabbySunday #TheIndianInTheCupboard #ChildrensBooks

Shabby Sunday

collage-2017-08-10-51

I have a bunch of old vintage books and continue to acquire more. One of my plans when  starting this blog was to do a post every now and then sharing one of my cherished vintage books. I figured there might be other book bloggers out there with some vintage books, heirlooms, or maybe some old books from childhood that they might want to share.

This meme titled ‘Shabby Sunday’ is for those who would like to participate and share some of their old vintage books. Do you have some shabby books you’d like to share? If so, please feel free to participate as anyone can join. Feel free to use my meme image if you’d like to. If you decide to do this meme, please consider linking back to me in this post so that I can see the book you’re sharing.


Last time I shared:

What the Witch Left by Ruth Chew

Today’s Shabby Share:

The Indian in the Cupboard

by Lynne Reid Banks

img_7710

Continue reading “Shabby Sunday: The Indian in the Cupboard by Lynne Reid Banks- 1982 -Book Review #VintageBooks #ShabbySunday #TheIndianInTheCupboard #ChildrensBooks”

Book Review: Lost in the Never Woods by Aiden Thomas #LostInTheNeverWoods #BookReview #Retelling #YoungAdult #RetellingReadingChallenge

Lost in the Never Woods by Aiden Thomas

Blurb:

It’s been five years since Wendy and her two brothers went missing in the woods, but when the town’s children start to disappear, the questions surrounding her brothers’ mysterious circumstances are brought back into light. Attempting to flee her past, Wendy almost runs over an unconscious boy lying in the middle of the road, and gets pulled into the mystery haunting the town.

Peter, a boy she thought lived only in her stories, claims that if they don’t do something, the missing children will meet the same fate as her brothers. In order to find them and rescue the missing kids, Wendy must confront what’s waiting for her in the woods.

My Thoughts:

Peter Pan is one of my favorite childhood stories, so picking up this retelling was a no-brainer, especially with the beautiful, captivating cover. This is my first Peter Pan retelling, and I had no idea what to expect. Without a doubt, this book was a pleasant surprise.

Continue reading “Book Review: Lost in the Never Woods by Aiden Thomas #LostInTheNeverWoods #BookReview #Retelling #YoungAdult #RetellingReadingChallenge”

Book Review: For the Wolf by Hannah F. Whitten #ForTheWolf #Retelling #BookReview

For the Wolf by Hannah Whitten

Blurb:

The first daughter is for the Throne.
The second daughter is for the Wolf.

For fans of Uprooted and The Bear and the Nightingale comes a dark fantasy novel about a young woman who must be sacrificed to the legendary Wolf of the Wood to save her kingdom. But not all legends are true, and the Wolf isn’t the only danger lurking in the Wilderwood.

As the only Second Daughter born in centuries, Red has one purpose-to be sacrificed to the Wolf in the Wood in the hope he’ll return the world’s captured gods.

Red is almost relieved to go. Plagued by a dangerous power she can’t control, at least she knows that in the Wilderwood, she can’t hurt those she loves. Again.

Continue reading “Book Review: For the Wolf by Hannah F. Whitten #ForTheWolf #Retelling #BookReview”

This Week’s Reads: For the Wolf by Hannah Whitten and Crying in H Mart by Michelle Zauner #AmReading #Books #Reads

Things have been very busy with planting and outdoor work, which has slowed my reading colossally. We ended up deciding on a whim to fix one particular landscaping area behind my house, and it turned into a huge project but a fun and rewarding one. It’ll be nice to have some new, different plants to share for Flower Friday too.

I just finished up That Weekend, which turned out to be pretty good. I’ll post my review within a week as this releases in June.

I’m reading with the kids The Dark Lord Clementine and Echo Mountain. The first one is taking some time to get into.

Continue reading “This Week’s Reads: For the Wolf by Hannah Whitten and Crying in H Mart by Michelle Zauner #AmReading #Books #Reads”