Book Review: Love in the Wild: A Tarzan Retelling by Emma Castle #Retelling #Romance #RetellingReadingChallenge #BookReview

Love in the Wild: A Tarzan Retelling by Emma Castle

Blurb:

A Sensual, Powerful, And Thought Provoking Tarzan Retelling 

Eden Matthews stumbled upon the discovery of a lifetime while photographing wildlife deep in the heart of Africa…

A gorgeous god of a man living in the wilds of the African jungle among a family of gorillas…

When he saves her life she’s compelled to uncover the man’s tragic past and the fate which led him to grow up in the wild.

Continue reading “Book Review: Love in the Wild: A Tarzan Retelling by Emma Castle #Retelling #Romance #RetellingReadingChallenge #BookReview”

Book Review: Lost in the Never Woods by Aiden Thomas #LostInTheNeverWoods #BookReview #Retelling #YoungAdult #RetellingReadingChallenge

Lost in the Never Woods by Aiden Thomas

Blurb:

It’s been five years since Wendy and her two brothers went missing in the woods, but when the town’s children start to disappear, the questions surrounding her brothers’ mysterious circumstances are brought back into light. Attempting to flee her past, Wendy almost runs over an unconscious boy lying in the middle of the road, and gets pulled into the mystery haunting the town.

Peter, a boy she thought lived only in her stories, claims that if they don’t do something, the missing children will meet the same fate as her brothers. In order to find them and rescue the missing kids, Wendy must confront what’s waiting for her in the woods.

My Thoughts:

Peter Pan is one of my favorite childhood stories, so picking up this retelling was a no-brainer, especially with the beautiful, captivating cover. This is my first Peter Pan retelling, and I had no idea what to expect. Without a doubt, this book was a pleasant surprise.

Continue reading “Book Review: Lost in the Never Woods by Aiden Thomas #LostInTheNeverWoods #BookReview #Retelling #YoungAdult #RetellingReadingChallenge”

Book Review: For the Wolf by Hannah F. Whitten #ForTheWolf #Retelling #BookReview

For the Wolf by Hannah Whitten

Blurb:

The first daughter is for the Throne.
The second daughter is for the Wolf.

For fans of Uprooted and The Bear and the Nightingale comes a dark fantasy novel about a young woman who must be sacrificed to the legendary Wolf of the Wood to save her kingdom. But not all legends are true, and the Wolf isn’t the only danger lurking in the Wilderwood.

As the only Second Daughter born in centuries, Red has one purpose-to be sacrificed to the Wolf in the Wood in the hope he’ll return the world’s captured gods.

Red is almost relieved to go. Plagued by a dangerous power she can’t control, at least she knows that in the Wilderwood, she can’t hurt those she loves. Again.

Continue reading “Book Review: For the Wolf by Hannah F. Whitten #ForTheWolf #Retelling #BookReview”

Book Review: The Sleeper and the Spindle by Neil Gaiman and Chris Riddell #BookReview #RetellingsReadingChallenge #FairyTale

The Sleeper and the Spindle by Neil Gaiman and Chris Riddell (illustrator)

Blurb:

A thrillingly reimagined fairy tale from the truly magical combination of author Neil Gaiman and illustrator Chris Riddell – weaving together a sort-of Snow White and an almost Sleeping Beauty with a thread of dark magic, which will hold readers spellbound from start to finish.

On the eve of her wedding, a young queen sets out to rescue a princess from an enchantment. She casts aside her fine wedding clothes, takes her chain mail and her sword and follows her brave dwarf retainers into the tunnels under the mountain towards the sleeping kingdom. This queen will decide her own future – and the princess who needs rescuing is not quite what she seems. Twisting together the familiar and the new, this perfectly delicious, captivating and darkly funny tale shows its creators at the peak of their talents.

Continue reading “Book Review: The Sleeper and the Spindle by Neil Gaiman and Chris Riddell #BookReview #RetellingsReadingChallenge #FairyTale”