A to Z Challenge: Music from Favorite Films “J” John Wick “Killing Strangers” #AtoZChallenge #JohnWick #Movies #Music

I’ve joined in for the A to Z challenge this year which runs from April 1st to the 30th. My choice of theme is Music from Favorite Films. I’ll be sharing the songs in order of film title and will write a little about my thoughts on the movie as well.

AtoZ2019tenthAnn.jpg

Update:

I couldn’t post yesterday because my youngest son broke his arm after dancing on a slide. Kids will be kids! Of course it had to be his dominant arm, so it’s going to be an interesting couple of months. I’m hoping to keep up with the April challenge and some book reviews, but a hiatus may be on the horizon. I apologize if things get a little quiet, but I’ll try to keep up with everyone’s posts too.


My film pick for “J” had to be John Wick. Here’s a quick summary:

John Wick (Keanu Reeves) is an assassin who’s been in retirement since he married his wife Helen. After losing Helen to a terminal illness, John receives a puppy which was arranged by Helen before her death. This new puppy is helping John as he deeply mourns his wife and tries to move on. An encounter with a group of Russian mobsters leaves John beaten to a pulp after his vintage Mustang is stolen and his new puppy is killed. John becomes enraged, coming out of retirement, and setting out to take revenge on everyone responsible.

tenor.gif

John is a man of focus, commitment, sheer will, something you know very little about.

Continue reading “A to Z Challenge: Music from Favorite Films “J” John Wick “Killing Strangers” #AtoZChallenge #JohnWick #Movies #Music”

Book Review: The Shadows We Hide (Joe Talbert #2) by Allen Eskens #BookReview #TheShadowsWeHide #Fiction

The Shadows We Hide (Joe Talbert #2)

By Allen Eskens

My thoughts on this book:

I read The Life We Bury a few years ago and loved it. Naturally, I was ecstatic to see that Allen Eskins came out with this sequel The Shadows We Hide. This second book definitely met my expectations. Continue reading “Book Review: The Shadows We Hide (Joe Talbert #2) by Allen Eskens #BookReview #TheShadowsWeHide #Fiction”

Book Review: For Better and Worse by Margot Hunt #BookReview #ForBetterAndWorse #Netgalley #NGEW2018 #Thriller

For Better and Worse

By Margot Hunt

38350063

From Goodreads:

On their first date back in law school, Natalie and Will Clarke bonded over drinks, dinner and whether they could get away with murder. Now married, they’ll put the latter to the test when an unchecked danger in their community places their son in jeopardy. Working as a criminal defense attorney, Nat refuses to rely on the broken legal system to keep her family safe. She knows that if you want justice…you have to get it yourself.

Shocked to discover Nat’s taken matters into her own hands, Will has no choice but to dirty his, also. His family is in way too deep to back down now. He’s just not sure he recognizes the woman he married. Nat’s always been fiercely protective, but never this ruthless or calculating. With the police poking holes in their airtight plan, what will be the first to fall apart: their scandalous secret—or their marriage? Continue reading “Book Review: For Better and Worse by Margot Hunt #BookReview #ForBetterAndWorse #Netgalley #NGEW2018 #Thriller”

Book Review: The One and Only (The ELI Chronicles) by Julia Ash #BookReview #Fantasy #DarkFantasy #Thriller

The One and Only

by Julia Ash

20181212_074037.jpg

From Goodreads:

When bioterrorism threatens to obscure humanity, one woman has the power to restore hope.

Ruby Spencer plans to resign from the U.S. Special Warfare Council. With an escalating Extinction Level Infection (ELI), the SWC needs the best minds acutely focused on the fight ahead. Yet motherhood has shifted her priorities. She’s preoccupied with her newborn’s health and safety. So resigning is the right choice.

For her last assignment, the SWC sends Ruby and husband Clay on a low-risk mission to Taiwan where they’ll consult with scientists analyzing the infection. Too bad Lt. Col. Quinton Oxford—the American Consulate’s embittered military attaché, is waiting in the shadows. Because Ox’s plans for the couple are everything but low-risk.

Continue reading “Book Review: The One and Only (The ELI Chronicles) by Julia Ash #BookReview #Fantasy #DarkFantasy #Thriller”

Book Review: Something in the Water by Catherine Steadman (Audible)

Something in the Water

by Catherine Steadman

40390080

From Goodreads:

A shocking discovery on a honeymoon in paradise changes the lives of a picture-perfect couple in this taut psychological thriller debut–for readers of Ruth Ware, Paula Hawkins, and Shari Lapena.

If you could make one simple choice that would change your life forever, would you? 

Erin is a documentary filmmaker on the brink of a professional breakthrough, Mark a handsome investment banker with big plans. Passionately in love, they embark on a dream honeymoon to the tropical island of Bora Bora, where they enjoy the sun, the sand, and each other. Then, while scuba diving in the crystal blue sea, they find something in the water. . . .

Could the life of your dreams be the stuff of nightmares?

Suddenly the newlyweds must make a dangerous choice: to speak out or to protect their secret. After all, if no one else knows, who would be hurt? Their decision will trigger a devastating chain of events. . . .

Continue reading “Book Review: Something in the Water by Catherine Steadman (Audible)”

Throwback Thursday: Dark Matter by Blake Crouch – May 17th

Throwback Thursday is a weekly meme created by Renee @ It’s Book Talk. This meme is an awesome way to share old favorites that were published over a year ago or even books that you’re finally reading after much time has passed. I have plenty of those to share! If you have your own Throwback Thursday recommendation feel free to jump on board. Please link back to her by using the link above.

BeFunky Design


Today’s throwback is:

Dark Matter

by

27833670.jpg

Blurb from Goodreads:

“Are you happy with your life?”  Continue reading “Throwback Thursday: Dark Matter by Blake Crouch – May 17th”

Wednesday’s Breakfast and a Book: Spaghetti Squash – In the Shadow of the Hanging Tree by Michael A. McLellan

Hello everyone! I hope you’re all doing well this week. It’s hard to believe we are in the middle of May already. Time is flying this year! I’m sorry I haven’t been doing many Breakfast and a Book posts lately, but life has been a little crazy. I hope to pick back up with more of these during the summer when I have a little more time in the mornings.

spag

I’ve had this recipe in mind for some time now. I cook it often, but the difference now is that I don’t have it with eggs like I used to. For breakfast, this can be served with fried eggs or scrambled eggs mixed in. Continue reading “Wednesday’s Breakfast and a Book: Spaghetti Squash – In the Shadow of the Hanging Tree by Michael A. McLellan”

Blog Tour & Giveaway: Win a Print Copy of Baby Teeth by Zoje Stage #giveaway #bookgiveaway

Baby Teeth by Zoje Stage

BabyTeeth_BlogBanner (1).png

Blurb: Sweetness can be deceptive. 

Meet Hanna.

She’s the sweet-but-silent angel in the adoring eyes of her Daddy. He’s the only person who understands her, and all Hanna wants is to live happily ever after with him. But Mommy stands in her way, and she’ll try any trick she can think of to get rid of her. Ideally for good.

Meet Suzette.

She loves her daughter, really, but after years of expulsions and strained home schooling, her precarious health and sanity are weakening day by day. As Hanna’s tricks become increasingly sophisticated, and Suzette’s husband remains blind to the failing family dynamics, Suzette starts to fear that there’s something seriously wrong, and that maybe home isn’t the best place for their baby girl after all.

Continue reading “Blog Tour & Giveaway: Win a Print Copy of Baby Teeth by Zoje Stage #giveaway #bookgiveaway”

Throwback Thursday: The Life We Bury by Allen Eskens – March 29th

Throwback Thursday is a weekly meme created by Renee @ It’s Book Talk. This meme is an awesome way to share old favorites that were published over a year ago or even books that you’re finally reading after much time has passed. I have plenty of those to share! If you have your own Throwback Thursday recommendation feel free to jump on board, and you’re welcome to use Renee’s pic as well. Please link back to her by using the link above.

BeFunky Design


This Week’s Pick:

The Life We Bury (Detective Max Rupert #1)

 20758175.jpg

Continue reading “Throwback Thursday: The Life We Bury by Allen Eskens – March 29th”