A Beautiful Conclusion to the Fable Duology! Book Review: Namesake (Fable #2) by Adrienne Young #YoungAdult #BookReview #Namesake

Namesake by Adrienne Young

Blurb:

Welcome to a world made dangerous by the sea and by those who wish to profit from it. Where a young girl must find her place and her family while trying to survive in a world built for men.

With the Marigold ship free of her father, Fable and the rest of the crew were set to start over. That freedom is short-lived when Fable becomes a pawn in a notorious thug’s scheme. In order to get to her intended destination, she must help him to secure a partnership with Holland, a powerful gem trader who is more than she seems.

Continue reading “A Beautiful Conclusion to the Fable Duology! Book Review: Namesake (Fable #2) by Adrienne Young #YoungAdult #BookReview #Namesake”

ARC Book Review: Red Wolf by Rachel Vincent #BookReview #YA #RedWolf #Retelling #RetellingsReadingChallenge

Red Wolf by Rachel Vincent

Publication date: July 20th 2021

Blurb:

This high stakes, pacey reimagining of Little Red Riding Hood is perfect for fans of Stephanie Garber and Megan Spooner.

For as long as sixteen-year-old Adele can remember the village of Oakvale has been surrounding by the dark woods—a forest filled with terrible monsters that light cannot penetrate. Like every person who grows up in Oakvale she has been told to steer clear of the woods unless absolutely necessary.

But unlike her neighbors in Oakvale, Adele has a very good reason for going into the woods. Adele is one of a long line of guardians, women who are able to change into wolves and who are tasked with the job of protecting their village while never letting any of the villagers know of their existence.

Continue reading “ARC Book Review: Red Wolf by Rachel Vincent #BookReview #YA #RedWolf #Retelling #RetellingsReadingChallenge”

This Week’s Books! #Books #Reads #Reading

Hello, fellow readers! How’s your week going? I thought I’d do a quick post to talk about the books I’m reading this week. Luckily, I was approved for one highly anticipated read from NetGalley, and there’s a stack of other physical books to read as well—some that I’m reading with my kids. Last week I sort of strayed from my plan and ended up reading a few recommendations. One of them was deeply disturbing (Tampa by Alissa Nutting), so I’ll be posting that review later this week, but I won’t be talking about that book today. Here’s what we have going on this week:

A Summer to Remember by Erika Mongomery

I just finished this a few days ago. This was a giveaway win, and it turned out to be a pretty good story. It transported me to summer! This would make a great beach read. My review will be posted later this week…

Blurb:

For thirty-year-old Frankie Simon, selling movie memorabilia in the shop she opened with her late mother on Hollywood Boulevard is more than just her livelihood–it’s an enduring connection to the only family she has ever known. But when a mysterious package arrives containing a photograph of her mother and famous movie stars Glory Cartwright and her husband at a coastal film festival the year before Frankie’s birth, her life begins to unravel in ways unimaginable.

Continue reading “This Week’s Books! #Books #Reads #Reading”

2021 Retellings Reading Challenge: #2021ReadingChallenge #FairyTales #RetellingsReadingChallenge #Retellings #Books

In 2019 I participated in the Retellings Reading Challenge over @cornerfolds.com. Unfortunately, Tracy isn’t hosting the retelling challenge this year, so I decided to create my own personal retelling challenge for 2021!

I love retellings, and there are so many on my shelf waiting to be read. For the original challenge, here was my list:

  • Shadowsong by S Jae-Jones
  • A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas
  • Ragnarök (Erik Storm) by Kai Mjaanes
  • Cinder by Marissa Meyer
  • The Last Unicorn by Peter S. Beagle
  • The Winter of the Witch by Katherine Arden
  • Norse Mythology by Neil Gaiman
  • Beauty by Robin McKinley
  • Geekerella by Ashley Poston
  • Finding Baba Yaga: A Short Novel in Verse by Jane Yolen
  • Heartless by Marissa Meyer
  • The Sleeper and the Spindle by Neil Gaiman
  • Tiger Lily by Jodi Lynn Anderson
  • The Wrath and the Dawn (The Wrath and the Dawn #1) by Renée Ahdieh
  • Sun and Moon, Ice and Snow by Jessica Day George
  • Daughter of the Forest (Sevenwaters #1) by Juliet Marillier
  • Mother Knows Best by Serena Valentini
  • Echo North by Joanna Ruth Meyer
  • Stepsister by Jennifer Donnelly
  • Depravity by M.J. Haag
  • Snow, Glass, Apples by Neil Gaiman

The seven that are crossed out were read for the 2019 challenge. I’m challenging myself to read these 10 titles below, on top of the other retellings I’ve already read this year, which will post next week. Not all are from my old list, and there may be more added on throughout the year.


Shadowsong by S Jae-Jones

I absolutely loved Wintersong, the first installment in this series. It reminded me so much of Labyrinth, one of my all-time favorites from childhood. When this second installment came out, I was in such a hurry to grab a copy, and here we are in 2021 still not having this one under my belt! I’m excited to see how the author continues this story.

Continue reading “2021 Retellings Reading Challenge: #2021ReadingChallenge #FairyTales #RetellingsReadingChallenge #Retellings #Books”