Book Review: Shadowsong by S. Jae-Jones #Shadowsong #Fantasy #Retelling #2021RetellingChallenge #RetellingsReadingChallenge

Shadowsong

by: S. Jae-Jones

Blurb:

Six months after the end of Wintersong, Liesl is working toward furthering both her brother’s and her own musical careers. Although she is determined to look forward and not behind, life in the world above is not as easy as Liesl had hoped. Her younger brother Josef is cold, distant, and withdrawn, while Liesl can’t forget the austere young man she left beneath the earth, and the music he inspired in her. 

When troubling signs arise that the barrier between worlds is crumbling, Liesl must return to the Underground to unravel the mystery of life, death, and the Goblin King—who he was, who he is, and who he will be. What will it take to break the old laws once and for all? What is the true meaning of sacrifice when the fate of the world—or the ones Liesl loves—is in her hands?

My thoughts:

After the end of Wintersong, I was craving for a continuation of the story and hoped there would be another book. Then came Shadowsong, and now I’ve finally read it, and it gave me the closure I needed after the first book. With that said, it certainly wasn’t as enchanting for me. 

The story opens with Liesl and her family struggling to make ends meet. She misses her brother Josef and wonders if he’s still alive. All she can do is write him letters, which get no response. With papa dead, they have bills they can’t afford. Liesl holds on to what she can: love, music, and memories. When a mysterious plague comes and the world is crumbling beneath her, Liesl must return to the Underground and discover the laws that cannot be broken. 

Continue reading “Book Review: Shadowsong by S. Jae-Jones #Shadowsong #Fantasy #Retelling #2021RetellingChallenge #RetellingsReadingChallenge”

Mini Book Review: Spinning Silver by Naomi Novik #SpinningSilver #BookReview #RetellingReadingChallenge #Retelling

Spinning Silver by Naomi Novik

Blurb: Miryem is the daughter and granddaughter of moneylenders, but her father’s inability to collect his debts has left his family on the edge of poverty–until Miryem takes matters into her own hands. Hardening her heart, the young woman sets out to claim what is owed and soon gains a reputation for being able to turn silver into gold.

When an ill-advised boast draws the attention of the king of the Staryk–grim fey creatures who seem more ice than flesh–Miryem’s fate, and that of two kingdoms, will be forever altered. Set an impossible challenge by the nameless king, Miryem unwittingly spins a web that draws in a peasant girl, Wanda, and the unhappy daughter of a local lord who plots to wed his child to the dashing young tsar.

But Tsar Mirnatius is not what he seems. And the secret he hides threatens to consume the lands of humans and Staryk alike. Torn between deadly choices, Miryem and her two unlikely allies embark on a desperate quest that will take them to the limits of sacrifice, power, and love.

Continue reading “Mini Book Review: Spinning Silver by Naomi Novik #SpinningSilver #BookReview #RetellingReadingChallenge #Retelling”

Book Review: Love in the Wild: A Tarzan Retelling by Emma Castle #Retelling #Romance #RetellingReadingChallenge #BookReview

Love in the Wild: A Tarzan Retelling by Emma Castle

Blurb:

A Sensual, Powerful, And Thought Provoking Tarzan Retelling 

Eden Matthews stumbled upon the discovery of a lifetime while photographing wildlife deep in the heart of Africa…

A gorgeous god of a man living in the wilds of the African jungle among a family of gorillas…

When he saves her life she’s compelled to uncover the man’s tragic past and the fate which led him to grow up in the wild.

Continue reading “Book Review: Love in the Wild: A Tarzan Retelling by Emma Castle #Retelling #Romance #RetellingReadingChallenge #BookReview”

Book Review: For the Wolf by Hannah F. Whitten #ForTheWolf #Retelling #BookReview

For the Wolf by Hannah Whitten

Blurb:

The first daughter is for the Throne.
The second daughter is for the Wolf.

For fans of Uprooted and The Bear and the Nightingale comes a dark fantasy novel about a young woman who must be sacrificed to the legendary Wolf of the Wood to save her kingdom. But not all legends are true, and the Wolf isn’t the only danger lurking in the Wilderwood.

As the only Second Daughter born in centuries, Red has one purpose-to be sacrificed to the Wolf in the Wood in the hope he’ll return the world’s captured gods.

Red is almost relieved to go. Plagued by a dangerous power she can’t control, at least she knows that in the Wilderwood, she can’t hurt those she loves. Again.

Continue reading “Book Review: For the Wolf by Hannah F. Whitten #ForTheWolf #Retelling #BookReview”