Book Review: For the Wolf by Hannah F. Whitten #ForTheWolf #Retelling #BookReview

For the Wolf by Hannah Whitten

Blurb:

The first daughter is for the Throne.
The second daughter is for the Wolf.

For fans of Uprooted and The Bear and the Nightingale comes a dark fantasy novel about a young woman who must be sacrificed to the legendary Wolf of the Wood to save her kingdom. But not all legends are true, and the Wolf isn’t the only danger lurking in the Wilderwood.

As the only Second Daughter born in centuries, Red has one purpose-to be sacrificed to the Wolf in the Wood in the hope he’ll return the world’s captured gods.

Red is almost relieved to go. Plagued by a dangerous power she can’t control, at least she knows that in the Wilderwood, she can’t hurt those she loves. Again.

Continue reading “Book Review: For the Wolf by Hannah F. Whitten #ForTheWolf #Retelling #BookReview”

ARC Book Review: Red Wolf by Rachel Vincent #BookReview #YA #RedWolf #Retelling #RetellingsReadingChallenge

Red Wolf by Rachel Vincent

Publication date: July 20th 2021

Blurb:

This high stakes, pacey reimagining of Little Red Riding Hood is perfect for fans of Stephanie Garber and Megan Spooner.

For as long as sixteen-year-old Adele can remember the village of Oakvale has been surrounding by the dark woods—a forest filled with terrible monsters that light cannot penetrate. Like every person who grows up in Oakvale she has been told to steer clear of the woods unless absolutely necessary.

But unlike her neighbors in Oakvale, Adele has a very good reason for going into the woods. Adele is one of a long line of guardians, women who are able to change into wolves and who are tasked with the job of protecting their village while never letting any of the villagers know of their existence.

Continue reading “ARC Book Review: Red Wolf by Rachel Vincent #BookReview #YA #RedWolf #Retelling #RetellingsReadingChallenge”

Book Review: Vasilisa (Old Rus #1) by Julie Mathison #BookReview #Vasilisa #RetellingsReadingChallenge #2021ReadingChallenge

Vasilisa (Old Rus #1) by Julie Mathison

Blurb:

Three witches, two children, one ogre — and nowhere to run.

It’s 1919, but in Edenfall, Pennsylvania, the Great War is not over — not for Vasilisa, at least. Papa is presumed dead on the fields of Flanders, Mama is being courted by an absolute ogre, and now Babka, her beloved grandma, has had a bad spell. Or has she fallen under one? Only the Old Tales, the Russian fables Vasilisa was raised on, offer any comfort or counsel.

But what if they are more than child’s tales?

Continue reading “Book Review: Vasilisa (Old Rus #1) by Julie Mathison #BookReview #Vasilisa #RetellingsReadingChallenge #2021ReadingChallenge”

This Week’s Books! #Books #Reads #Reading

Hello, fellow readers! How’s your week going? I thought I’d do a quick post to talk about the books I’m reading this week. Luckily, I was approved for one highly anticipated read from NetGalley, and there’s a stack of other physical books to read as well—some that I’m reading with my kids. Last week I sort of strayed from my plan and ended up reading a few recommendations. One of them was deeply disturbing (Tampa by Alissa Nutting), so I’ll be posting that review later this week, but I won’t be talking about that book today. Here’s what we have going on this week:

A Summer to Remember by Erika Mongomery

I just finished this a few days ago. This was a giveaway win, and it turned out to be a pretty good story. It transported me to summer! This would make a great beach read. My review will be posted later this week…

Blurb:

For thirty-year-old Frankie Simon, selling movie memorabilia in the shop she opened with her late mother on Hollywood Boulevard is more than just her livelihood–it’s an enduring connection to the only family she has ever known. But when a mysterious package arrives containing a photograph of her mother and famous movie stars Glory Cartwright and her husband at a coastal film festival the year before Frankie’s birth, her life begins to unravel in ways unimaginable.

Continue reading “This Week’s Books! #Books #Reads #Reading”