Book Review: Lost in the Never Woods by Aiden Thomas #LostInTheNeverWoods #BookReview #Retelling #YoungAdult #RetellingReadingChallenge

Lost in the Never Woods by Aiden Thomas

Blurb:

It’s been five years since Wendy and her two brothers went missing in the woods, but when the town’s children start to disappear, the questions surrounding her brothers’ mysterious circumstances are brought back into light. Attempting to flee her past, Wendy almost runs over an unconscious boy lying in the middle of the road, and gets pulled into the mystery haunting the town.

Peter, a boy she thought lived only in her stories, claims that if they don’t do something, the missing children will meet the same fate as her brothers. In order to find them and rescue the missing kids, Wendy must confront what’s waiting for her in the woods.

My Thoughts:

Peter Pan is one of my favorite childhood stories, so picking up this retelling was a no-brainer, especially with the beautiful, captivating cover. This is my first Peter Pan retelling, and I had no idea what to expect. Without a doubt, this book was a pleasant surprise.

Continue reading “Book Review: Lost in the Never Woods by Aiden Thomas #LostInTheNeverWoods #BookReview #Retelling #YoungAdult #RetellingReadingChallenge”

Book Review: Among the Beasts & Briars by Ashley Poston #BookReview #Fantasy #Fiction

Among the Beasts & Briars by Ashley Poston

Blurb:

Cerys is safe in the kingdom of Aloriya.

Here there are no droughts, disease, or famine, and peace is everlasting. It has been this way for hundreds of years, since the first king made a bargain with the Lady who ruled the forest that borders the kingdom. But as Aloriya prospered, the woods grew dark, cursed, and forbidden. Cerys knows this all too well: when she was young, she barely escaped as the woods killed her friends and her mother. Now Cerys carries a small bit of the curse—the magic—in her blood, a reminder of the day she lost everything. The most danger she faces now, as a gardener’s daughter, is the annoying fox who stalks the royal gardens and won’t leave her alone.

Continue reading “Book Review: Among the Beasts & Briars by Ashley Poston #BookReview #Fantasy #Fiction”

A Beautiful Conclusion to the Fable Duology! Book Review: Namesake (Fable #2) by Adrienne Young #YoungAdult #BookReview #Namesake

Namesake by Adrienne Young

Blurb:

Welcome to a world made dangerous by the sea and by those who wish to profit from it. Where a young girl must find her place and her family while trying to survive in a world built for men.

With the Marigold ship free of her father, Fable and the rest of the crew were set to start over. That freedom is short-lived when Fable becomes a pawn in a notorious thug’s scheme. In order to get to her intended destination, she must help him to secure a partnership with Holland, a powerful gem trader who is more than she seems.

Continue reading “A Beautiful Conclusion to the Fable Duology! Book Review: Namesake (Fable #2) by Adrienne Young #YoungAdult #BookReview #Namesake”

ARC Book Review: Red Wolf by Rachel Vincent #BookReview #YA #RedWolf #Retelling #RetellingsReadingChallenge

Red Wolf by Rachel Vincent

Publication date: July 20th 2021

Blurb:

This high stakes, pacey reimagining of Little Red Riding Hood is perfect for fans of Stephanie Garber and Megan Spooner.

For as long as sixteen-year-old Adele can remember the village of Oakvale has been surrounding by the dark woods—a forest filled with terrible monsters that light cannot penetrate. Like every person who grows up in Oakvale she has been told to steer clear of the woods unless absolutely necessary.

But unlike her neighbors in Oakvale, Adele has a very good reason for going into the woods. Adele is one of a long line of guardians, women who are able to change into wolves and who are tasked with the job of protecting their village while never letting any of the villagers know of their existence.

Continue reading “ARC Book Review: Red Wolf by Rachel Vincent #BookReview #YA #RedWolf #Retelling #RetellingsReadingChallenge”